I Went to a Battleground State and All I Wore Was This Lousy T-Shirt

I wore my Obama shirt to a festival in rural Virginia last weekend. The few times anyone said anything it was positive.

My wife did hear one guy with his wife/kids remark with some contempt in his voice, “that guy had an Obama shirt on…. It said Obama on it” and he kept looking back at us. And afterward, when we returned to our car, we found that someone had turned our Obama magnet upside-down.

Other than that, it was all positive with a few “Yay Obama!” comments as well as a “nice shirt!” from a guy in another Obama shirt. Even a bearded guy who looked a bit like what some might call a redneck said “I like your shirt! Obama!”

At the gate, a lady probably in her 50’s said “You think he’s gonna win?”
I said “I hope so….”
“Me too” she said.
I said “But, I’m trying not to get too excited…..”
There was a 10-15 second pause as we stood there and I waited for the line to move ahead.
Then I said, “but I am.”
“Me too,” she said.

Leave a comment